New to Snowboarding?

Snowboarding combines the elements of surfing, skateboarding and skiing. Snowboard, one of the fastest growing sports, is a recent addition to the Olympic Winter Games. Back in 1981, the first official snowboard competition was held in Colorado, USA. From there the sport grew widely and was first recognized as an Olympic Winter Games discipline in 1998. Two snowboard events were introduced at the Nagano 1998 Olympic Winter Games – Halfpipe and Giant Slalom. Parallel Giant Slalom replaced Giant Slalom at the Salt Lake City 2002 Olympic Winter Games. Boardercross was introduced in 2006 at the Torino Olympic Winter Games. Slope Style was introduced in the 2014 Olympic Games.

Snowboard Nova Scotia

Snowboard Nova Scotia is a non-profit organization, we are a member of Canada Snowboard and an active member of Sport Nova Scotia. The Association is designed to support the sport of snowboarding at all levels throughout the Province from the first time competitive rider to the National Team member. Snowboard Nova Scotia is responsible for the sanctioning of events within the Province including learn to ride events, a competitive series, the Provincial championships and NorAm events. Events are offered to riders age 8 and older. Our goal is to encourage more individuals to get and stay involved in the sport of snowboarding.


The Nova Scotia Snowboarding Association was established in 1991 to provide Nova Scotian athletes with an avenue to provincial, national, and international competition. In 2011 NSSA re-branded themselves and became Snowboard Nova Scotia (SBNS). The association has been instrumental in developing the sport of snowboarding in Nova Scotia and Atlantic Canada. Snowboard Nova Scotia athletes have competed in Asia, Europe, New Zealand, and across North America. Snowboard Nova Scotia boasts two Olympic athletes, Trevor Andrews (1998 & 2002 Olympics) and Sarah Conrad (2006 & 2010 Olympics), two National Team Members Sarah Conrad (2004-2012) & Alex Duckworth (2012-2013) as well as a two National Development Team Member’s Joel Boylan (2005) and Kristin d’Eon (2007-2009).